Colorado | Criminal Law
Legal Question
Last weekend, my girlfriend was arrested and charged with a 3rd degree assult for domestic violence. I said and did some things to make her very upset, and we got into an argument. She was in my face screaming at me, and I pushed her back. Pushing her back caused us both to fall because we were both very intoxicated. When we fell, I busted open my lip, and she hit her head on the wall. I was so angry with her and just wanted her to leave, so I called the police. When the police arrived, she refused to talk, so she was arrested due to my obvious injury. In my drunken, emotional, and angry state, I told the police that she attacked me. They put it in their report, but I refused to write a statement. The next morning when I sobered up and came to my senses, I realized what I had done. Can I go in and write a statement of the true events without being charged for providing a false report? What can I do to make this right so that we aren't both charged?


