Virginia  |  Business Law

question bubble
10/03/11, 5:20 am

Legal Question


A well-known online educational institution owes me a $940 financial aid refund. They sent me a check for more than $2k and have asked me to cash the check and pay them the difference. They set my account to show that I owe for a class even though I have paid for all of my courses. I asked them to cancel the check and send one for the correct amount. I was contacted several days later and was told they were not able to cancel the check and send one for a different amount. A newly issued check would have to be for the same amount. My financial adviser with the school pressed me to cash the check again, but I requested a check for the proper amount again. I was told they could do this, but it would take longer. I then received a message telling me that they couldn't cancel the check until I filled out an official cancellation form. The form is a request to cancel my financial aid and I believe if I fill it out, they will no longer have any legal obligation to pay me the $940 they owe me. I refused to fill out the form and finally said I would cash the check and pay them the difference only after my bank assures me the check has cleared. I am concerned about cashing this check. What should I do and what should I be aware of?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search