Texas | Family Law
Legal Question
If my wife was married before and was never divorced. Are we married and would I need to get a divorce filed?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Bob Leonard |
If she was married when you married her, then you can file a petition to have your marriage declared void. If, however, she divorces (or has previously divorced) and the two of you continue to live together and claim that you are married, then your marriage to her will be valid from that point on. Some of the issues in a case to void the marriage will be similar to a divorce since you both have property that needs top be divided; except in this case, the court is not dividing community property but rather deciding and confirming what separate property each of you have. It is entirely possible that you would each have individual property and jointly owned property. |
Top Attorneys in TX
Langford Law Firm
Plano, TX
Questions Answered: 5365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
BUSHMAN LAW OFFICES
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 1632
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-19
Law Office of S. Keith Engelke
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 1565
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
The Brashear Law Firm, PLLC
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 923
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Baez Law Firm, P.C.
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 840
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-28
Power Daley PLLC
Plano, TX
Questions Answered: 651
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-04
The Lee Law Firm
Austin, TX
Questions Answered: 567
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Bob Leonard Law Group, PLLC
Fort Worth, TX
Questions Answered: 490
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-16
Search Questions and Answers


