California  |  Business Law

question bubble
1/17/12, 12:33 pm

Legal Question


My wife has been in a partnership for 6 years with another woman in a salon. The partner has lied and has been sneaky throughtout the entire partnership. The lease on the salon runs out March 15th. My wife has explained that she does not want to continue with the partnership. She has the salon appraised at $ 25,000.00 her partner agreed to this amount. The partnership also has built up money in the account. The partnership is stressed and bitter and my my fears the partner will not live up to her part of the bargain. My wife has to get set up somewhere else and only has two months. Fearing she won't get her money, or her partner will do what she can to hold back payment, my wife took 1/2 of the money in the account as her half of the partnership and took an additional $ 12,500.00 as 1/2 buy out for her share. She wrote her partner a letter documenting everything that she did, down to the penny, and gave it to her this morning. Her partner says she had no right, says she wants her out of the salon now, went and told everyone in the salon that my wife took out all the money and she was going to get a lawyer and sue my wife.

Does she have a case?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search