Minnesota | Business Law
Legal Question
My wife and I are separated and she has filed for divorce. Is it legal for her to sign my name as an endorsement of a check in my name. It was in the amount of about 15000.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Aaron Hall |
It is illegal for someone to sign another person's name on a check. That is forgery. While there are times when one person can sign a check for another, the signer must still sign her own name; such circumstances include where a person has a Power of Attorney or Conservatorship. As a practical matter, spouses often forge each others names because their spouse doesn't care, but under the law, it is forgery to sign another person's name.
Aaron Hall http://MinnesotaAttorney.com |
Top Attorneys in MN
Mahoney Anderson LLC
Eden Prairie, MN
Questions Answered: 2836
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Minnesota Lawyers
St. Louis Park, MN
Questions Answered: 2487
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
Law Offices of Robert D. Kane, Jr.
Eagan, MN
Questions Answered: 548
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Minnesota Lawyers - Jesperson Law Offices
Edina, MN
Questions Answered: 374
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-22
Calvert Law Office
Saint Cloud, MN
Questions Answered: 251
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-28
Reiff Law Office
St. Louis Park, MN
Questions Answered: 166
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Steven J. Vatndal
Mankato, MN
Questions Answered: 156
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-06
Vincent W. King, PA
Minneapolis, MN
Questions Answered: 101
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Law Office of Thomas B. James
Cokato, MN
Questions Answered: 86
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-11-10
Nachman & Associates, P.C.
Ridgewood, NJ
Questions Answered: 38
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-12
Search Questions and Answers


