Massachusetts  |  Civil Litigation

Legal Question

Asked on: 6/26/12, 1:59 pm

My wife was the victim of an attempted armed robbery the guy got arrested and confessed to the crime, can he be sued for mental stress etc?

1 Answer


Answered on: 6/26/12, 2:12 pm by Edward Hoffman

Yes, though the appropriate cause of action would probably be assault. But can the defendant afford to pay a judgment? Most armed robbers don't have a lot of assets. A lawsuit probably isn't worth the time, expense and energy it will require unless your wife will be able to collect if she wins.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman 12301 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 500 Los Angeles, CA 90025

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

166 Answers given in the last few hours.

7526 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search