New York | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
My wifes Grandomotehr died erlier this year. Her final will had her daughter (my wifes mother) getting 50% and 3 grandchildren (my wife included) splitting the other 50% of her estate. However, in the final years power of attorney was given to her daughter and the house deeded to her to avoid medicaid placing a lien on the house. Now my mother in law claims that since the house is in her name the will is null and void, and all proceeds are hers. She and her attorney actually destroyed the will (I am not sure if there is another copy). The house has been sold. We live in NY. Do the grandchildren have any legal recourse?


