California  |  Family Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 4/27/12, 11:27 am

If I am willingly giving up legal and physical custody and no visitation then am I legally responsible to pay child support?

4 Answers


Answered on: 4/27/12, 11:36 am by Peter Tuann

No, if you are the biological parent or assumed to be, you can't just walk away, you have to pay child support. If someone adopts this child, then you can be off the hook financially.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Peter Tuann 111 Deerwood Road, Suite 200 San Ramon, CA 94583

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 4/27/12, 11:36 am by Rhonda Ellifritz

Yes, and you just signed up to pay the highest amount if this has already been agreed to. For further information, visit http://www.ellifritzlaw.com


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Rhonda Ellifritz 1600 N. Broadway, Ste 830 phone(949)517-8638 Santa Ana, CA 92701

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 4/27/12, 1:05 pm by Michael Schneider

The law, in essence is that even though you give up your rights, you do not give up your responsibilities. The only way to lose that responsibility is if someone else adopts your child, as in a step parent adoption, for example. Good luck!


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Family Law Center 4121 Mission Inn AVe. Riverside, CA 92501

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

286 Answers given in the last few hours.

7529 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search