Illinois | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
are wills made public, and how can i obtain my parents will who have been dead for years
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Virginia Prihoda |
Wills are a matter of public record, assuming they have been filed. The appropriate place to file a will (in Illinois) is in the clerk's office for the probate court in the county in which the decedent resided on the date of his or her death. Illinois law requjires anyone in possession of a decedent's original will to file it within 30 days of death. There are criminal sanctions for willfully secreting a will and failing to file it. |
Top Attorneys in IL
Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 3774
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Moens Law Offices, Chartered
Moline, IL
Questions Answered: 2175
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Ainsworth & Associates PC
Chicago,
Questions Answered: 1259
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-22
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Law Offices of Motty Stone
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 627
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-26
Glick and Trostin, LLC
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 604
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-12
Sanford M. Martin, P.A.
Naples, FL
Questions Answered: 580
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Office of Sue Roberts-Kurpis
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 553
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Legal Consultant
Bangalore,
Questions Answered: 420
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Offices of Robert H. Glorch
Palatine, IL
Questions Answered: 392
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


