Louisiana | Family Law
Legal Question
When a woman is divorsed how does she legally select the family name (married or maiden) that she uses afterwards?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Andrew Casanave |
A woman is always entitled to use her birth name and once married, her husband's last name. Once divorced she is still entitled to use her ex-husband's last name.
How a woman chooses anything is a personal decision, far outside my expertise. |
Top Attorneys in LA
Pizzolatto Law Office
Lake Charles, LA
Questions Answered: 3157
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-14
Mandie Seale Lucas
Ventress, LA
Questions Answered: 1605
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Andrew M. Casanave
Lake Charles, LA
Questions Answered: 1356
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
The Louque Law Firm, L.L.C.
Thibodaux, LA
Questions Answered: 234
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-08
Steve LeBlanc, Ltd., (APLC)
Baton Rouge, LA
Questions Answered: 227
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-10-18
Vidrine Law Firm, PLC
Tucson, AZ
Questions Answered: 28
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-06
Attorney Office
Lake Charles, LA
Questions Answered: 18
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-27
Law Offices of David C. Hesser
Shreveport, LA
Questions Answered: 18
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-09-08
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Ohlmeyer & Ohlmeyer
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 16
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-11
Search Questions and Answers


