Minnesota | DUI Law
Legal Question
I'm wondering if I can be charged with dui if I admit that I was under the influence during the time of the original charges even if why sobriety was never called into question during the investigation.
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Ross Brandborg |
explain further |
|
Read More Answered By: Thomas C. Gallagher |
It sounds like you have been already? A charge is merely an accusation, not proof of a fact. That is why anyone can be charged with something that never happened.
There is not enough information provided here to guess whether the facts alleged by police would persuade a judge there is probable cause allow a charge to trial. Keep in mind that in Minnesota, one has only 30 days from the administrative license revocation notice to file a challenge in court. You may wish to consult a DWI lawyer as soon as possible, to protect your rights. |
|
Read More Answered By: Maury Beaulier612.240.8005 |
Your question is confusing.
There are many defenses to a DWI charge. If you had a Blood Alcohol Content under .20, and you have no prior DWI within the last 10 years, you were charged with a fourth degree offense. This is still serious and carries with it maximum criminal penalties of up to 90 days in jail and a $1000 fine. If convicted any subsequent DWI offense would be much more serious and with four offenses in ten years, you can be charged with a felony. As a result, as strong defense on the first alleged incident can be critical to your future. Different Judges give different sentences. Accordingly, understanding your Judge and knowing how to change Judge's can be an important part of the process.
There is also a civil case that results in the revocation of your driver's license. On a first offense over your lifetime, you may be revoked for 30 to 90 days. This is a separate case even though the challenges are largely the same. In order to challenge your license revocation, you must seek a judicial review by filing a petition within 30 days of the offense. Do not forget this critical time period. All too often people with strong defenses come to me too late to challenge the license revocation. The end result goes well beyond simply having your license revoked. A failure to challenge results in an Implied Consent violation on your record which can also affect employment and may be used to enhance any subsequent DWI offense.
There are also additional consequences to a conviction including skyrocketing insurance rates, plate impoundments and sometimes vehicle forfeitures.
Other points of a defense analysis include:
· Reasonable Suspicion. The officer must have reasonable suspicion to believe a specific crime has been committed in order to stop a person. If that reasonable suspicion is lacking the stop and the ticket may be invalid;
· Probable Cause to arrest and charge. The officer must make sufficient observations to form a basis for probable cause to believe that you were operating a vehicle while intoxicated. Oftentimes, officers perform field sobriety tests incorrectly making the arrest invalid;
· Procedures at the Station. The officer must follow very specific procedures at the station including reading and recording an Implied Consent Advisory that informs you that you have a right to a lawyer. If any of the steps are omitted, the charges may be dismissed;
· Test Procedures. Testing methods to determine blood alcohol concentrations are imperfect at best. Like any scientific method, any test result has a margin of error. If the machinery is not properly maintained and even if it is properly maintained, the test results may vary from true Blood Alcohol Concentration. A sufficient variation may result in a reduce charge or no charge.
For a FREE Consultation call us at 612.240-8005.
|
Top Attorneys in MN
Minnesota Lawyers
St. Louis Park, MN
Questions Answered: 2487
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
Gallagher Criminal Defense Services
Minneapolis, MN
Questions Answered: 816
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Robert D. Kane, Jr.
Eagan, MN
Questions Answered: 548
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Brandborg & Gast
Fargo, ND
Questions Answered: 441
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-17
Minnesota Lawyers - Jesperson Law Offices
Edina, MN
Questions Answered: 374
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-22
Chesley Kroon Chambers and Harvey
Mankato, MN
Questions Answered: 207
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-01-27
Reiff Law Office
St. Louis Park, MN
Questions Answered: 166
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Ascheman & Smith, LLC
St. Paul, MN
Questions Answered: 134
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-19
Law Office of Thomas B. James
Cokato, MN
Questions Answered: 86
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-11-10
Meaney & Patrin, P.A.
Eden Prairie, MN
Questions Answered: 80
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-05-19
Search Questions and Answers


