New Jersey | Family Law
Legal Question
I got word that the local police were attempting to serve me with a TRO on behalf of my ex. I left on a previously planned vacation, and was never served. During my absence, the police came to my door and notified my friend that a hearing was scheduled for the following Monday, which was during my absence. They also left a voice mail on my phone, but I was out of the country and my cell did not work. The hearing was scheduled for last Monday (11/14), and I have heard nothing. Is it possible that they conducted the hearing without my notification? And, if so, if I had been found "guilty" of domestic violence, wouldn't they have had to notify me formally by this time?


