California  |  Construction Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 6/15/12, 9:05 pm

I have work for a client on a insurance claim for five month in exchange I would rebuilt the house ,i purchased the permit on my name the client got his claim process and approve and now he won't give me the job . May I sue him for backing out of the verbal agreement ?

1 Answer


Answered on: 6/16/12, 10:59 am by Bryan Whipple

Oral contracts can be enforced, with a few limitations: chief among the situations requiring a written contract are contracts to transfer an interest in real estate and contracts not to be performed within a year. Your oral contract seems to be of a type (based on subject matter) which can be enforced, but you'll need adequate proof of its terms. This can be difficult.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law P O Box 318 Tomales, CA 94971-0318

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

286 Answers given in the last few hours.

7529 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search