California | Legal Ethics
Legal Question
I work for a litigation support company. We provide EDD processing and Data Hosting services. Do service providers like me, who do not provide legal advice of any kind but purely provide technical services, have a legal duty to perform detailed conflict checks before taking in new work? And what would define a conflict? This issue is discussed frequently wiithin providers but I am pretty sure that no one knows the answer. And I have yet to come across a vendor that has an actual conflict checks process in place. I am thinking we should not be subject to conflict checks, unless our clients have specific requirements they want us to adhere to?


