California | Employment Law
Legal Question
I work for a US retailer that has over 1000 stores nationwide. I'm new, been with the organization for three months now. I have a very stern approach to the way I do and manage things. A few of my employees went to HR stating that I harass and use un appropriate comments at work. I believe all of these statements have some validity, but have been blown out of proportion. I've hired new associates and management that previously worked for me with another organization. I believe they feel nervous that I am going to manage them out of the business and are gathering together to retaliate against me.
I had a conversation with my district manager this afternoon. He brought all of this to my attention. I believe they are making false statements that could ruin my career.
Can I sue them personally? I believe they have grouped together and I might get fired for this. If I do get fired, do I stand a chance of obtaining unemployment?
I'd like to show Human Resources how serious I am in regards to ensuring these associates take whatever they place in writing seriously.
So many people say they are going to get a lawyer, I want to be in front of this non sense and show them that I have already obtained one. What could I have an attorney do? Send a letter to our Human Resources Department?
What can I or should I do?


