California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
10/17/11, 1:18 pm

Legal Question


I work in San Francisco, California and am exempt employee. Earlier this year, my employer forced me to do the job duties of another department for almost 4 months. The head of the other department said she was working on a special project and didn’t have time to do the primary duties for which she was hired and is paid to do. Over the course of these months, I spent more than 150 hours, in addition to my normal duties and work hours, doing her job. I received no compensation for doing the primary duties of a department for which I was neither hired nor trained for. I don’t expect to receive any sort of compensation for it now, but I would like to know if there is any sort of action I can take if they try to force me do this again. Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search