California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
10/21/11, 1:51 pm

Legal Question


I have worked for a company that sells ******* since October 2010.I work from 8AM-10PM 6 days a week and have never received "over-time" pay. I was sent to New York to under the assumption (because that was what I was told) of being promoted to open up my own store. After only a few months in New York, a week away of opening up my own store, the person I was working with decided to quit and leave New York. I was not provided given any travel money to leave New York. When I got back to California and started working again, I was told that I needed to start at the bottom again. Compensation for the job is: $348.00/week if you don't make any sales or $100.00 per sale. If you do have a week of no sales, the $348.00 must be paid back as soon as you have 3.5 sales. So if you you have 4 sales the week following a week of no sales, you will receive $52.00 as your weekly pay. And, this is working 6 days a week for 10+ hours a day. Somehow this just doesn't seem legal to me and was wondering whether someone might be able to inform me. There are several of us (employees of this company) that are wondering.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search