Pennsylvania | Workers Comp
Legal Question
I worked for a large home health company that is headquartered in Louisiana. In the first quarter of last year, I agreed to take over a territory that was vacated by someone that was promoted and they assured me that I would be paid for the physician referrals that I brought into that territory. As instructed, I sent my manager a list of all of the referrals that I had brought into the newly acquired territory and he assured me that I would be paid for my efforts. In calculating my bonus based upon my existing territory and my newly acquired territory, the money that I was due was slightly over $11,000.00.
When the bonus checks were sent out, I did not receive one. When I inquired about the money that I was due, I was told that some of the credit (my largest referring doc) went to another representative and they would correct this in the future and the rest of the credit (and bonus check) was given to the person that had vacated the territory. I went up the ladder to the regional manager and he did give me $3,000.00 to appease me, but I am still out $8,000.00 that I earned, along with being credited with a quarterly (and possibly yearly) award that equates to additional money.
Since leaving this company, I have continued to ask for the money that is rightfully mine and have not been given any satisfaction even though I have written to the owner/CEO, as well as the chief legal council. In my letters, I have also told them about an action that I witnessed by another representative that is fraudulent (Medicare) and had reported it to my manager who instructed me not to tell anyone. The owner/CEO and chief legal council told me that they would look into these complaints, but three months have gone by without any resolution.


