New York  |  Employment Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 6/16/12, 10:00 am

I am a working waitress in NYC. Last week another waitress had to give the restaurant $306 out of the money on here. We keep all cash customers give us for bills on us, so this isn't the problem. The manager was sitting right by the safe where we put in our cash out's, saw the girl put the money into the drop box, which you can only put in and not take out, and she left. The next day the girl was told she owed $300 because it was missing. Now, the restaurant wants all the waitresses to pay a portion for this to make up for what's missing. I was not working the same shift as her and I don't feel like I should have to pay $88. That's a lot of money to come out of my tips! I live off my tips!

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

213 Answers given in the last few hours.

7573 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search