Pennsylvania | Disability Law
Legal Question
A written opinion of any judge that agrees with the outcome of the majority opinion, but is based on different grounds is known as a ?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Rachel Hunter |
Concurrence is the word you are searching for.
Where a case is heard en banc (before 7 or 9 nine judges) or before a panel (3 judges) one judge will write the majority. If another judge on the panel agrees with the result, but not the reasoning, its called a concurring opinion. If a judge disagrees with the result, its called a dissenting opinion. If a judge agrees with both the reasoning and result, the judge will join the majority.
Opinions and memorandums are the same thing - opinions are published and of precedential value; memorandums are not published and are not generally of precedential value but they can be used as persuasive authority at times. |
Top Attorneys in PA
Arjont Group (Law Office of Roger Traversa)
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1615
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-15
Law Office of Charles A. Pascal, Jr.
Leechburg, PA
Questions Answered: 1102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Benner & Piperato
Bethlehem, PA
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-11
Dessen, Moses & Rossitto
Willow Grove, PA
Questions Answered: 100
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-24
Law Office of Charles Weiner
Bensalem, PA
Questions Answered: 85
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-02
Duffy Law, LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 81
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Benner & Piperato
Bethlehem, PA
Questions Answered: 45
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
McLaughlin Law Offices
Paoli, PA
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-01-07
Search Questions and Answers


