Florida | Criminal Law
Legal Question
I was wrongly convicted of a felony and the conviction was overturned on appeal at the District Court of Appeals in Florida. The local prosecutor decided to “NOLLE PROSEQUI”. When I was convicted the courts levied fines of $10,900 for various court costs. Now that I'm free and wants to get a driver’s license, my clerk of courts is telling me I still owe this fine even though the case was overturned. Is this correct? I would think these fee's would go away with the overtured case. I spent eight years in prison for something I didn't do and they feel I owe them????


