New York | Business Law
Legal Question
X is 18 years of age, and I am 17. X walks up to me and asks if I can do him a favor by selling an iPhone 4 through eBay and I would give him the money minus a 20% part that goes to me. I accepted and also told him that he would also have to pay for the eBay final value fee that gets charged when you sell an item. I was to create the eBay auction and collect the money from the selling, while X would send the package off to the buyer. The auction ends at a price of $250 and X sends the package to the buyer. Shortly after, I received a message from the buyer saying that the iPhone 4 was fake and that he demanded a refund. I was never informed of the phone being fake by X. I sent a full refund to the buyer and now we are left with nothing. However, there was still an eBay final value fee for $35. I told X that he would have to pay for that fee regardless of the item not being sold. I drew up a note saying that he agrees to pay $35 by March 1st, dated it, and both him and I signed the it. X is now telling me that he will not be paying that money to me. I want my money, what is the best thing I should do?


