New Jersey  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
3/31/11, 5:42 am

Legal Question


Two years ago I had an "altercation" with a stranger in the parking lot of a store. I beeped my horn at her and as a result she started yelling and cursing at me and approached my car. I called the police for assistance because she wouldn't let me leave and I had my kids in the car. An officer came, I left and she proceeded into the store. A few days later she filed harassment charges against me, which I received notice for in the mail. After speaking with a lawyer I filed one against her in return. When we went to court we both agreed to drop the charges (prior to being called before the judge) and did so when the case was called.

I have never had anything beyond a speeding ticket on my record prior to this. I was told that I could get this expunged. Is this necessary? My problem is that I am currently a criminal justice major with the intent to attend law school upon graduation. Will this charge affect my criminal background check with the possibility of negative consequences for acceptance, obtaining my law license or the possibility of becoming a judge in the future? I understand anything can affect anything but I didn't know if this was something that could stop me of achieving my dream.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search