California  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
4/29/11, 6:25 pm

Legal Question


Eight years ago I entered into a 1 year renewable office lease with a landlord who passed away three years ago. His wife took over as my landlord afterwards and she has been the quintessential slumlord. She did not provide me with a functioning heater or lights and she has refused all of my requests for repairs. My last official request for repairs occurred in February and the landlord refused and belligernetly said,"Why don't you just move out?" I replied,"fine, I'm giving you my 30 days notice and I am withholding rent." I moved out within 2 weeks and took several photo's of the condition of the office which I had left clean. Today, I received a County Sheriff's Notice Card requesting that I pick up documents at the Sheriff's office. It didn't provide any information. As I picked it up the clerk said that it was a subpoena from my former landlord who is suing me in Small's Claim Court for back rent, attorney's fees and carpet cleaning. I want to know my affirmative defenses.I would like to assert retaliatory eviction, material breach of contract for failing to provide the repairs that I had requested among the others. Please advise.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search