New York  |  Real Estate Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 6/01/12, 5:44 am

Six years ago my fiance purchased a home in his name only because my credit was poor from a previous divorce. So for the past six years I have paid half the mortgage, which legally is considered nothing more than renting from him. We agreed that when my credit improved we would add my name to the house. My credit is greatly improved now, but is it more important to refinance and add my name to the mortgage, or simply to add my name to the deed? I just want to make sure that if he was to pass away unexpectedly I would not be out in the street without a legal foot to stand on.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

196 Answers given in the last few hours.

7577 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search