Jamaica  |  Admiralty Law

question bubble
11/19/08, 5:54 pm

Legal Question


Injury on a cruise

My grandmother fell on a cruise and broke her shoulder(she tripped on food in the dining room). The injury required her to be taken to Jamaica to be flown to the US for surgery. She died approximately 2 weeks later from a stroke. My family is now being told the cruise line cannot be sued because of Death on the High Seas Act (DOHSA). My question is does this actually affect our ability to sue the cruise line and what recourse would you recommend? I tried reading the literature and found it to be too confusing. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search