India  |  Appeals and Writs

question bubble
11/20/09, 5:24 am

Legal Question


what is the meaning of the word writ petition, Appeal, show cause notice?


question bubble
11/20/09, 7:23 am

Legal Answer


Writ Petition, Appeal and Show cause notice all indicate legal proceedings.

Seshadri Srinivasan

www.lawconcern.com 7A Queens Court 130 Montieth Road Egmore Chennai Chennai,india, NUS 600008

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/20/09, 10:29 am

Legal Answer


Under the Constitution of India , writs are issued by both by the Supreme Court ( Art 32 ) and High Court (Art 226) . With reference to writ Petitions there are different writs i.e habeas corpus, mandamus , prohibition , certiorari and quo warranto are issued in different situations . Writ are basically issued against any person covered under Article 12 of the constitution and it is not issued against any private person .

Appeal means where under different Act where an orginal order is challanged before an Appellatte authority is known as appeal .

Show cause Notice - Where any wrong is comitted a Notice is given to explaint the charges framed against him .

Srinivas Patnaik

M/s Srinivas Patnaik Sahid Nagar Bhubanswar, NUS 751007

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search