India | Appeals and Writs
Legal Question
Sir,
I am working in the Department of Income Tax, Kanpur. Four persons of our department filed a writ petition challanging the seniority list for promotion in Allahabad High Court. The case was hear and the judgement was reserved on 5th May, 2009. The judgement has not been pronounced till date.
Now at least 300 persons from Western UP and Uttaranchal are awaiting the judgement because their promotions are involved. There is a status quo order by the HC.
Now we want to know
1. Whether this judgement can be held reserved for unlimited period ? Is there any remedy for early pronouncement of the judgement ?
2. If one of the judges retires meanwhile what will be the fate ?
3. This is two judges service bench. If there is difference of opinion between the judges can the judge refer the case to the Chief Justice without pronouncing the judgement?
4. Many people have retired from service and many are to retire soon ? What can they do for the judgment ?
regards
sushil dixit


