Nigeria  |  Banking Law

question bubble
2/24/05, 10:01 pm

Legal Question


Bank freezes my savings account on behalf of past employer

My employment with a university was terminated after one year duration; but my university kept paying salaries into my personal savings bank account for ten additinal months after termination( I had given them my account number at onset of employment) . I did not tell them to pay salaries neither did I inform them that they were still paying monthly salaries into my account. Now my university has got my bank to freeze my savings account. Is the bank right to freeze my account and stop honouring my mandates? Also I am being asked by officers of the university to explain why I am still drawing salaries from the university - as if I took active part in having salaries paid into my personal account. The authorities were/are aware that my employment was temporary but out of their own oversight they were sending salaries to my bank account. Please advise. Thanks.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search