India  |  Banking Law

question bubble
7/14/09, 6:31 am

Legal Question


Case and Lok Adalat

Hi,

I am from Bangalore. I am asked to make a payment of Rs. 50,000 within 4 days towards my personal loan outstanding. I am told that the case was filed under section 138 in November, 2008 and I have not recieved any notice regarding this during that period. I was contacted just today (July 14, 2009) and asked to pay the amount by an advocate who represents ICICI bank. But I had received a notice to attend a Lok Adalat Camp in March, 2009 and I did attend it and appeared before a magistrate and agreed to pay off the remaining amount within my load tenure period, which is Feb of 2010. And I have made payments towards that loan in the following months. Even on the first week of June, I made a payment of Rs.4000. But, right now I am not in a position to make that huge amount (50,000) since I lost my job a year ago and managing with part-time work. Please Help me out in this. Because the person who contacted my tells me that If I dont make a payment within 4 days, I will need to appear before in court in Punjab in 2 days and since I am in Bangalore, I cannot be there in Punjab in 2 days. What Should I be doing regarding this??


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search