India | Banking Law
Legal Question
Cheque Bounce - not able to know the reason
Hi,
I have recently given a PNB cheque to Axis Bank for the part payment of my Home loan.I got a call from Axis Bank that the cheque has bounced and also they have sent me a letter for the same but the details in the letter are all wrong(my name,Cheque Amount).I have sufficient balance in my account so don't know how the cheque got bounced.Instaed I had written my contact number at the back of the cheque but they(PNB) did'nt call me before rejecting the cheque.Also,they levied a penalty of Rs 225.I have asked Axis Bank to send me the correct details with the return memo from the bank but I have'nt received any response from Axis bank.Also,I have approached my PNB home branch for the reason of rejection of the cheque but they told me that they won't be able to tell the reason as the cheque is rejected directly from the head branch and instead told me to get the reason from Axis Bank.
I also called up PNB Customer care and they told me that the account is inactive but I had depositted a cheque In Dec 2008 but they say that we need to withdraw amount as well.Is it true?I had also requested for a debit card and net banking in January and had also logged online in Jan 2009.Please suggest how to get the cheque bounce reason


