India | Banking Law
Legal Question
Demand Draft Dishonoured
Dear Sir,
Our demand draft was dishonoured by bank for reason it is lost by the drawer, whereby the demand draft was actually given by the drawer to us. Therefore the bank provided the drawer another demand draft that is not given to us. Meanwhile the person presented us the Demand draft is expired. Can we claim the amount for the demand draft by filing case against bank. As we came to know that the bank cannot cancel a demand draft without the consent of the drawee. And once the demand draft is provided it should be payable on demand. We may also require a appropriate banking lawyer knowing the info on the same. I am from Chennai. Thanks


