India | Banking Law
Legal Question
Legal notice from Client-stop payment
I am a Recruitment Consultant(Proprietor).My Company subscribed database services from some job portal for 2 yrs. issued 16 post dated cheques,(8 chqs. at an interval every month, completes 1 yr subscription and 8 cheques starting from 10th month onwards every month for 2nd yr. subscription). During 1st yr. no one from the Company called me for general assistance, also i was not getting some good results, so i was not satisfied with that job portal, and there was also less business due to recession, so i decided to cancel the services from them for the 2nd year, and informed them that i am not interested to continue with them and asked them NOT TO PRESENT my balance 8 chqs. and return them to me, i am stopping the payment for 2nd year chqs.,2 days before the date of cheque. on email to some manager of that company, but he said verbally that now he can't stop the process and they stopped our services on 10th month of 1st year, so we receive only 10 month services from them and given payment for 1 year, On the top i have received legal notice from there Attorney for the bounced cheque case. This is a real harassment. Payment given 1 yr, services received 10 months and on top a legal notice, Please advice?


