Nigeria  |  Banking Law

question bubble
7/06/09, 8:40 am

Legal Question


Liability of a guarantor

At what point is the guanrantor to a loan becomes liable for the repayment of the loan guaranteed?


question bubble
7/06/09, 10:16 am

Legal Answer


Re: Liability of a guarantor

A guarantor for a loan agrees to stand in the stead of the Debtor in the event the Debtor defaults on the loan, consequently, the issue of a loan guaranteed would only be triggered when the Debtor fails to meet his/her obligation at the time the debt is due. I hope i have been able to answer your question.

Kunle Obebe

Bloomfield (Advocates & Solicitors) 5 Adeyiga Street, Ikosi Lagos, NUS 21154

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search