India  |  Banking Law

question bubble
7/10/09, 10:08 am

Legal Question


Negotible instrument Act 138

My husband issued 18 PDC's to the ICFAI University as an advance payment of the distance MBA learning program.4 PDC's honoured in due time. 2 PDC's dishonoured for insuficient balances.He dropped the course for financial problem & do not want to persue the course any more.Now the ICFAI university claiming the rest of the amount and has filed a case under NI Act 138 under the metropoliton magistrate Hyderabad.Is It Possible? As he not purchased a consumable goods and paid the PDC's. It is obvious a student may not continue his studies due to financial problem or any other reason. How can an university filed a criminal offence case on the student & forcefully asking the amount who is not availing any facilities from the university.We talked to the collection agents of the university as there is no relevent authority to talk, even mailed to the Student Service Dept but In vain. They also claiming the amount.

Please suggest me how can i protect my husband from this type of injustice.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search