India  |  Banking Law

question bubble
11/19/09, 6:13 am

Legal Question


my question reveled some serious controversial, kindly give me proper solution:

i have more than 1 Million american dollar, is it possible to convert those money to Indian currency without submitting the supporting document and whether it is possible to avoid the tax? is their any possible way to covert those money to Indian currency?


question bubble
11/19/09, 6:22 am

Legal Answer


I presume u r in India. If so there is no legal way to convert the same to Indian currency except through a bank or authorised forex dealer. They will certainly require you to submit documents as to the source of that amount. Tax part of it will come later

If you go to some unauthorized forex dealers, you will be courting trouble and have to get the same converted at your own risk..

J. Radhakrishnan

independent Practice Priya Mahaall, New 27, Old 12/3, Deivasigamani Street Chennai, NUS 600014

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/19/09, 8:34 am

Legal Answer


You have to state to lawyer the source of this money and its present place of custody. Then you can ask for advice on how to convert to INR and possibly tax plan.

email me at:

helpdesk@lawconcern.com

madraslawyer@yahoo.co.in

Seshadri Srinivasan

www.lawconcern.com 7A Queens Court 130 Montieth Road Egmore Chennai Chennai,india, NUS 600008

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/20/09, 2:20 pm

Legal Answer


Yes, sure, you can convert your dollars into Indian currency anytime.

Sudershan Goel

Attorney-at-Law (India)/ Visiting Scholar, UNC-CH USA Punjab and Haryana High Court Chandigarh, 110001

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search