India | Business Law
Legal Question
100 shares of reliance company sold by me - an investor, to another investor and recd.cheque for rs.45000/-- cheque stopped by drawer stating shares lost and may obtain duplicate shares - matter reported to reliance company who responded in writing saying to obtain INJUNCTION order form court - city civil court issued stay-order. the ownership of the original shares in my name is not challenged as the buyer though served, never appeared in the court, but instead gave in writing for shares lost and may obtain duplicate shares and stopped payments. now city civil court asks : is city civil court competent to order reliance company for issue of duplicate shares ? or, this matter should be referred to company law board ?
the civil suit was filed by me in 1994 and after 15 years if i have to go to company law board, i am not in a position to waste another 15 years and shall better quit. is there no remedy for city civil court to order for issue of duplicate shares ? kindly assist.


