United Kingdom  |  Business Law

question bubble
9/14/09, 5:56 am

Legal Question


3 Years Ago i Purchased a Nightclub with a long term Friend , & we needed to raise £250,000 towards the Cost of buying the Club which totaled £450,000 , We arranged for Lloyds to Value both ours & my Partners Property , My Partner only had about 70K equity but me & my Girlfriend had around 300K equity so they happily lent us the Money as a Joint loan , We were both made aware that if one Partner can not pay the Monthly repayments or the Business cant keep up the Monthly Payments , then the Bank would come after the other Partner ( Us ) Now me & my partner have fallen out over the Club not doing well & He has literally Disappeared & Sent me an Aggressive Email saying He no longer wants anything to do with the Business & his 50% liability of the £250,000 loan will be Paid by someone he has Secretly been selling Club Shares to , All this Happened Jan of this year & this person who I now find as a reluctant partner is "Not" paying my Ex partners 50% share of the Loan Payments & I am stuck with paying the Whole amount on my own , & my Question to you is , is this Allowed for him to just pass his loan on? He's not gone Bankrupt & still owns his home ( We checked ) We fully understand the Loan has to be paid & weve been & seen the Bank & we are paying it ( With a Struggle ) , is this right Should my Partner not be held to account as he's still out there & not Bankrupt?

Trace


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search