India | Business Law
Legal Question
dishonour of cheques
I had received cheques against supply of textile dyes to my customer in Spet 08 which were lodged and were dishonoured. He had changed his banker and issued me new cheques with date ranging from Feb09 to July 09. He had passed a few and stopped all the cheques throug his letter dated 7/4/09 stating false information that he had infromed me about inferior quality of dyes over telephonic conversation that he had to settle claim worth lakhs of Rs on my confirmation to settle the claim of damaged fabrics by accepting debit notes of his parties.
He has asked me not to lodge the cheques as they were issued as security by him till calims settle. Can I proceed against claims under sec 138 and what action should I take against his false claim after six month seven months


