India  |  Business Law

question bubble
7/13/09, 10:48 am

Legal Question


Like to open Branch office in US

Dear Sir,

We are a small level company with 80 employees,we are into web design & development since last 8 years,we are located in kolkata-India,we would like to open a branch office in US,would like to know the measures that are needed to be taken to accomplish the task,we would like to know the things from scratch level,we dont have anyone in US, neither we have a US visa,we have efficient people who if given proper guidance can make it over there,Please do give us proper instruction as to how to proceed with the same,presently one of us is in Chicago for vacational purpose,so if needed we can have a one to one conversation on the same,Looking for a quick reply,will be leaving Chicago on coming thursday...

Looking forward to hear back from you...

Regards

Smita


question bubble
7/16/09, 3:25 am

Legal Answer


Re: Like to open Branch office in US

As suggested by Mr. Goel you can take assistance of his office in US. However, you would also require to comply with several Indian regulations under the Exchange Control Laws i.e permission of RBI for outbound investment, etc.

Pranav Desai

PD Legal & Associates 4, Sagar Society, Fatimanagar Pune, NUS 411013

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
7/14/09, 6:36 am

Legal Answer


Re: Like to open Branch office in US

you need to send in all the details before you guided of the process.

RAJIV GUPTA

(Cell: +91 9811284735) lawnrajiv@gmail.com Kar Vai Legal Solutions, Founder, 359, Western Wing, Tis Hazari Courts Delhi, India., 110054

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
7/13/09, 11:34 am

Legal Answer


Re: Like to open Branch office in US

Welcome Smita.

You may seek RBI permission for opening an office in USA.

You may post/transfer some of the existing employees for working in your USA office by obtaining L-1 visa.

We will be happy to guide your team from our office in Chapel Hill, North Carolina, USA on receipt of your e-mail request.

Sudershan Goel

Attorney-at-Law (India)/ Visiting Scholar, UNC-CH USA Punjab and Haryana High Court Chandigarh, 110001

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
7/13/09, 11:42 am

Legal Answer


Re: Like to open Branch office in US

Strictly speaking on the terms of opening an office in US is that you must have assignments or contracts of the work you do in your office.You are supposed to get registered with STPI if you want the income to get back to India and showing the office in US as a branch.Once if you have registered then all other formalities could be done accordingly from time to time.

Rohini Kumar Tenneti

R.K.1080 LEGAL SERVICES VIDYANAGAR Hyderabad, 500044

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search