United Kingdom | Business Law
Legal Question
Refusal to refund layaway payments
My husband put something on
layaway at a well known pawn shop.
It was supposed to be a 60 day
layaway but it has been eight
months. However, each time my
husband has made a late payment
they guy was really nice about it and
said not to worry. Tom (my hubby)
last called in February and they guy
again said not to worry about it. Two
months later they have cancelled our
layaway without calling us or sending
us a letter. No warning whatsoever,
and they cancelled his layaway and
refuse to give us back any of the
$275 he has paid so far. I have a
hard time believing this is within the
law. I think I will look into small
claims court, but am wondering if
anyone knows anything about a
situation like this in the state of
Florida. Thanks so much!!


