India  |  Civil Rights Law

question bubble
11/18/09, 2:42 am

Legal Question


In My Marriage Certificate I Have My Maiden Name And An Alias Name Kept By My In Laws.Do I Need To Add That Alias Name In All My Documents Like Passport Etc?


question bubble
11/18/09, 3:05 am

Legal Answer


it is not necessary to add alias name but in case you want, then you need to follow the process as advised earlier. your passport in the maiden name also holds good in case you do not intend the name change.

RAJIV GUPTA

(Cell: +91 9811284735) lawnrajiv@gmail.com Kar Vai Legal Solutions, Founder, 359, Western Wing, Tis Hazari Courts Delhi, India., 110054

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/18/09, 9:35 am

Legal Answer


It is basically your choice. But the alias name must also be official. If you want to be known by the alias name you MUST follow legal procedure for name-change.

Seshadri Srinivasan

www.lawconcern.com 7A Queens Court 130 Montieth Road Egmore Chennai Chennai,india, NUS 600008

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search