India  |  Technology Law

question bubble
7/23/09, 12:40 pm

Legal Question


Hello sir,

I'm a graduate from a middle-class family. Few days back, I was searching for short and simple domain name to open my own blog/website and found one .co.in domain which I purchased. Incidentally, this is the .co.in domain of a famous internet company that holds the exact version of .com version. The web-hosting company I bought the domain from was quoting higher prices to purchase web-hosting service, which I couldn't buy it as it was out of my budget limit.

Since the domain is parked uselessly, I thought of selling it. The most appropriate person/company to buy this was the company which holds the exact .com version of my domain. Hence, I sent an email to one of the executives offering them to purchase the .co.in domain if they wish.

In return, I was shocked to receive a threating email from the legal department of this company threating me of consequences if I use it or sell it to any third party; and asked me to transfer the ownership of domain to their company without any condition. They also mentioned that my contacting them for sale of domain serves as a proof that I'm trying to take undue advantage of their fame and publicity and they can file legal and criminal cases against me, here in India.

I don't know anything about cyber laws here in India and don't want to get into it. Could you please let me know if I indulged in a crime by acquiring the .co.in version of their domain? Do I need to unconditionally transfer the ownership to this company?

What do you suggest me to do here? Any suggestions on this matter would be of great help.

Thanks


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search