India  |  Constitutional Law

question bubble
11/19/09, 10:34 am

Legal Question


what is daughters legal share in an ancestral property of her father ?


question bubble
11/19/09, 1:38 pm

Legal Answer


A property belonging to father can not be ancestral for the daughter. The property of a father after his death intestate is devolved according to Sec. 8 of the Hindu Succession Act, 1956 equally among the heirs mentioned as Class-1 heirs and a daughter takes in such property of her father equally with her brother/s, mother etc., As such in a fathers property a daughter has one equal share if she has mother, brothers and sisters living. If she is sole heir she takes it absolutely.

Praveen Vyapari

Law Chambers 4-3-324/1, III floor, Bank Street, Kothi Hyderabad, NUS 500 195

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/19/09, 6:46 pm

Legal Answer


I agree.

Seshadri Srinivasan

www.lawconcern.com 7A Queens Court 130 Montieth Road Egmore Chennai Chennai,india, NUS 600008

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search