Legal Question in Constitutional Law in India

i am a hindu girl married to a sikh boy in 2012 under special marriage act. what will be my category i.e., general or obc and religion, hindu or sikh? i am applying for govt jobs where they ask for category and religion of the applying candidate? my husband is from a business family and we live with his parents in kolkata. plz guide.

Asked on 9/01/13, 10:05 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

As per law you both govern with Hindu law as in the eyes of law Hindu and Sikh both are Hindus by religion.

About caste you have to check whether he belongs to SC or Gen. caste.

Good luck.

Read more
9/02/13, 10:27 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Constitutional Law questions and answers in India

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8804 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino & La, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now