Re: Cess Act 1996
The BCWW cess Act 1996 aims to provide for regulation of employment & conditions of service of the building and other construction workers as also their safety, health and welfare measures in every establishment which employs or employed during the preceding year ten or more workers. The exception made is only in respect of residential houses for own purpose constructed with a cost not exceeding Rs. 10 lakh and such other activities to which the provisions of Factories Act, 1948 and Mines Act, 1952 apply. Some of the other main provisions of the Main Act are given below:
1. Provision for an Advisory Committee at the Central and the State levels with the function to advise the Governments concerned on such matters arising out of the administration of the Act as may be referred to it.
2. Provision for registration of each establishment within a period of sixty days from the commencement of work to ensure that there are no malpractices and to discourage non-compliance of law by circumventing.
3. Provision for registration of building workers as beneficiaries under this Act.
4. Provision for constitution a Building and Other Construction Workers’ Welfare Board by every State Government to exercise the powers conferred on, and perform the functions assigned to it, under the Act.
5. Provision for immediate assistance in case of accidents, old age pension, loans for construction of house, premia for group insurance, financial assistance for education, to meet medical expenses, maternity benefits etc.
6. Provision for health and safety measures for the construction workers in conformity with ILO convention No.167 concerning safety and health in construction revising the Safety Provisions (Building) Convention, 1937. For this purpose comprehensive Central Rules i.e. Building and other Construction Workers (Regulation of Service and Conditions of Service) Central Rules, 1998 have been notified by the Central Government.
7. Provision for constitution of safety committees in every establishment employing 500 or more workers with equal representation from workers and employers in addition to appointment of safety officers qualified in the field.
8. Provision for Penalties of fine and imprisonment for violation and contravention of the Act