India | Consumer Law
Legal Question
A passenger took a ticket for Thiruvanadhapuram (India) at Muscat in Srilankan Airways. The flight was not direct and there was a halt at Colombo (Srilanka).The passenger was alighting from the aircraft to the step ladder to reach a waiting bus that will take him to the connecting flight aircraft. Due to other passengers rushing out of the craft from behind him fell down and had severe dental injury. When he came to Thiruvanandhapuram ultimately, he took it up with Srilankan Airways,to bear the bill for medical expenses. On their refusal he went the State Consumer Forum that asked the airline to compensate by paying 1.8 lakhs.
The accident had happened in another country and also the step ladders are provided by the airport authorities at Colombo not by the airline. The passengers are not Children to expect the air-hostess to see they alight in orderly manner one by one. Also the penalizing was done quoting Carriage by Air Act.
Is this forum right in awarding compensation for an Indian Citizen for the accident that happened in another Country? That too on foreign airlines?


