India  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
5/22/10, 12:46 am

Legal Question


My father had given a cheque to a person. However my father died few days later and that cheque bounced.

Now that person has sent us a notice from his advocate to pay up the amount ALONG WITH PENALTY.

So my question is - are we liable for any bounced cheque and penalty of it and can the other party hold us accountable for cheque bouncing?

To me, it does not sound logical - how are we supposed to know what all cheques my father had issued that have yet noe been cleared ?

We do want to pay up any debts that he owed, but not the penalties.

Whats you opinion law gurus?

Thanks,

VB


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search