Re: abetment
Abetment of a thing:-According to section 107 of IPC, A person abets the doing of a thing, who-
Firstly :-Instigates any person to do that thing; or
Secondly:-Engages with one or more person or persons in any conspiracy for the doing of that thing, if act or illegal omission takes place in pursuance of that conspiracy, and in order to the doing of that thing ; or
Thirdly:-Intentionally aids, by any act or illegal omission, the doing of that thing.
Explanation 1 :-A person who, by willful misrepresentation, or by willful concealment of a material fact which he is bound to disclose, voluntarily causes or procures, or attempts to cause or procure, a thing to be done, is said to instigate the doing of that thing.
Illustration:-A, a public officer, is authorized by a warrant from a court of justice to apprehend Z, B, knowing that fact and also that C is not Z, willfully represents to A that C is Z, and thereby intentionally causes A to apprehend C. Here B abets, by instigation the apprehension of C.
Explanation 2 :-Whoever, either prior to or at the time of the commission of an act, dose anything in order to facilitate the commission of that act, and thereby facilitate the commission thereof, is said to aid the doing of that act.
Abettor:-According to section 108 of IPC, A person abets an offence, who abets either the commission of an offence, or the commission of an act which would be an offence, if committed by a person capable by law of committing an offence with the same intention or knowledge as that of the abettor.
Explanation 1 :-The abetment of the illegal omission of an act may amount to an offence although the abettor may not himself be bound to do that act.
Explanation 2 :-To constitute the offence of abetment is not necessary that the act abetted should be committed, or that the effect requisite to constitute the offence should be caused.
Explanation 3 :-It is not necessary that the person abetted should be capable by law of committing an offence, or that he should have the same guilt intention or knowledge as that of the abettor, or any guilty intention or knowledge.
Explanation 4 :-The abetment of an offence being an offence, the abetment of such an abetment is also an offence.
Explanation 5 :-It is not necessary to the commission of the offence of abetment by conspiracy that the abettor should concert the offence with the person who commits it. It is sufficient if he engages in the conspiracy in pursuance of which the offence is committed.