Turkey  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
6/04/09, 7:55 am

Legal Question


Can a court find you guilty if you didn't even know you were being sued?

I've been in the states since 1999 and apparently someone sued me in Turkey when I wasn't there. I recently learned (as I was trying to renew my TR passport) that there is a ''yakalama emri' (which could be capture and question or capture and put in jail, as I understand it). I am a clean cut guy with no issues, can someone fabricate a story and create a mess when you are not there? Could the court find me guilty because they couldn't find me? I am very frustrated because TR offices don't tell me why I am on there or how can I get myself out of it. Lawyers ask thousands the moment they figure I am in the U.S. I don't have much money, can someone guide me? Is this something I can handle (questioning and release) or not (going to jail with no representation upon my entry at the airport). I really have NO clue why I am on that list. Help?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search